2016 Summer Youth Assembly


02_02_17 Winter Youth Assembly - Day 2-1108.jpg



Program Summary

The 2016 Summer Youth Assembly took place on August  10-12 at the United Nations Headquarters in New York City.

Corresponding with International Youth Day and less than a year after the Sustainable Development Goals were established, the three-day conference consisted of panels and workshops pertaining to the 17 goals.

The conference culminated in the development of the 2016 Summer Youth Assembly Resolution, a collaborative effort among all youth delegates present and a demonstration of their commitment to sustainable development. Read the summary of the proceedings.

Available downloads:

2016 Summer YA Program Agenda

2016 YA Resolution→ 

2016 Summer YA Report→


Lead Endorsers

H.E. Mr. Oh Joon and the Permanent Mission of the Republic of Korea to the United Nations

H.E. Mr. Virachai Plasai and the Permanent Mission of the Kingdom of Thailand to the United Nations


H.E. Ms. Simona-Mirela Miculescu
Representative of the Secretary-General & Head of UN Office in Belgrade
Honorary Chair, 2016 Youth Assembly

Yin-Chu Jou
Chair, 2016 Youth Assembly

David Hill
Director and Treasurer, Friendship Ambassadors Foundation, Inc.

Jolly Amatya
Youth Co-Chair, 2016 Summer Youth Assembly

Learn more about the staff→


H.E. Mr. Mogens Lykketoft
President of the 70th Session of the General Assembly (via video message)

H.E. Ms. Chulamanee Chartsuwan
Ambassador and Deputy Permanent Representative of Thailand to the United Nations

Dr. David Nabarro
Special Adviser on the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development

Jamil Ahmad
Deputy-Director, United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)-New York

Ravi Karkara
Senior Adviser Strategic Partnership & Advocacy to the Assistant Secretary-General/ Deputy Executive Director of UN-Women


Ahmad Alhendawi
United Nations Secretary-General’s Envoy on Youth

Krishanti Vignarajah
Director of Policy, White House - Office of the First Lady

Andrew Rabens
Special Adviser for Global Youth Issues, U.S. Department of State

Angelica Silvero
Head of Speakers Bureau, World Bank Group

Mona Mourshed
Head of McKinsey’s Global Education Practice

Kelli Wells
Executive Director of Education and Skills, GE Foundation

Monique Coleman
UN Youth Champion, International Year of Youth 2010

See more speakers→